## ALL SOULS COLLEGE

## STATED GENERAL MEETING – SATURDAY 14 JUNE 2014

## **RECORD OF DECISIONS**

LEVER, PANNICK, GREEN, SEGAL, Present: CUSTOS, TEPER, SANDERSON, CARDY, RYAN, MACLEAN, BRAND, PICKARD, SEAMAN, HUMPHRIES, TRIFOGLI, HOOD, THOMAS, HORDEN, GOODWIN-GILL, DRURY, WILSON, KIDD, BURROW, REDWOOD, MALCOLM, WARDHAUGH, OXLEY, HENDERSON, BEAVER, RODGER, GELLNER, MCLEAN, HEYES, CHATTERJEE, SCHEELE, SRINIVASAN, CRAWFORD, HORNBLOWER, BURROWS, WALDRON, MOGENSEN, FINGLASS, HÄCKER, ARMSTRONG, O'ROURKE, CLARKE, MULLEN, WHITE, WILMOT-SMITH, WOUDHUYSEN, KENNY, BUCKNELL, ASSERAF, BOBZIEN, WARNER, REDGWELL, BAKER, STOVER, OSTROWSKI, SZÁNTÓ.

#### 1. ADMISSION TO FELLOWSHIP

Péter-Dániel SZÁNTÓ was admitted as a Fellow.

# 2. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES

The College approved various changes in committee memberships.

#### 3. ELECTIONS TO FELLOWSHIPS

The College formally agreed that:

- (i) Clare BUCKNELL and Arthur ASSERAF be elected to Fellowships under Statute III, cl. 2(iii) (Research), with effect from 1 November 2014.
- (ii) Michael TEPER be re-elected to a Senior Research Fellowship under Statute III, cl. 5 with effect from the expiry of his current term of Fellowship on 30 September 2014 until his retirement on 30 September 2016.
- (iii) Jonathan KATZ be elected to a Fellowship under Statute III, cl. 8(Fellowship tenable by any person who has been a Fellow or a

Visiting Fellow and is able to advance the purposes of the College) for two years with effect from 1 October 2014.

- (iv) Justine FIRNHABER-BAKER, George MOLYNEAUX and Daniel ROTHSCHILD be elected to a Fellowship under Statute III, cl. 10 (Fellowships tenable by ex-Fellows) for a period of seven years with effect from 15 June 2014. [Firnhaber-Baker will intermit the beginning of her Fellowship for one year.]
- (v) Sir Michael HOWARD and Martin WEST be elected to Fellowships under Statute III, cl. 12 (Honorary Fellowships) with effect from 15 June 2014.
- (vi) Paul BRAND, John CARDY, Guy GOODWIN-GILL,
  Christopher HOOD and Boudewijn SIRKS be elected to
  Fellowships under Statute III, cl. 14 (Emeritus Fellowships) on
  retirement from their current Fellowships on 30 September 2014.

### 4. REPORTS OF COMMITTEES

The College received reports from:

- (a) General Purposes Committee
- (b) Estates and Finance Committee
- (c) Academic Purposes Committee
- (d) Domestic Committee
- (e) Library Committee
- (f) Computing Sub-Committee
- (g) Benefices Committee
- (h) History Committee

The College agreed to accept the invitation to become the permanent college of association for the Professor of Poetry; resolved to donate the proceeds of the sale of the former library buildings at Kensal Rise and Cricklewood for doctoral scholarships in the Humanities; resolved to use the money saved through Senior Research Fellowship deferrals to support the Chichele Professorship of the History of War and the Chichele Professorship of Social and Political Theory and/or the Gladstone Professorship of Government and Public Administration for one year each; and reviewed and approved the expenditure budget for 2014/15, the Health and Safety Policy Statement, and the annual Risk Register.