You are here

Dr Margaret Bent

Emeritus Fellow since 2008
Margaret Bent's publications range over English, French and Italian polyphonic musical repertories, manuscripts, compositional processes, notation and theory of the 14th to 16th centuries. Recent publications include a study and facsimile of the early 15th-century Veneto manuscript Bologna Q15 (2008), and (with Robert Klugseder) a reconstructed Liber cantus from the Veneto (2012). Her current work explores networks of musicians in the Veneto, and she has just completed a monograph relocating the origins of Jacobus, the author of the Speculum Musicae, from Liège to Spain (2015).
Dr Margaret Bent
  • Background

    • Emeritus Fellow, All Souls College (from 2008)
    • Senior Research Fellow, All Souls College (from 1992 to 2008)
    • Professor (including Chairmanship), Music Department, Princeton University (from 1981 to 1992)
    • Visiting Professor, then Full Professor and Chairman, Music Department, Brandeis University (from 1975 to 1981)
    • Lecturer and Senior Lecturer, Goldsmiths’ College, London (from 1972 to 1975)
    • Teaching for universities of London and Cambridge (from 1964 to 1972)
    • Undergraduate and postgraduate work, Girton College, Cambridge (organ scholar) (from 1959 to 1964)
  • Research interests

    • English, French and Italian music of the 14th to 16th centuries
    • Technical matters of music theory, counterpoint, analysis, musica ficta, text-setting, and other issues that bridge notation and performance in early music, descriptions of new sources, aspects of musical transmission, stemmatics, and manuscript studies, interfaces with literary, historical and biographical questions
    • Interdisciplinary collaborations involving aspects of words and music, rhetoric and the non-verbal arts
  • Selected publications

    • Magister Jacobus de Ispania, author of the Speculum musicae, RMA monograph (Farnham: Ashgate, 2015).
    • (with Robert Klugseder), Ein Liber cantus aus dem Veneto: Fragmente in der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek München und der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek Wien. A Veneto Liber cantus (c. 1440): Fragments in the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek, Munich, and the Österreichische Nationalbibliothek, Vienna (Reichert: Wiesbaden, 2012).
    • Bologna Q15: The Making and Remaking of a Musical Manuscript: Introductory Study and Facsimile Edition (Lucca: Libreria Italiana Musicale, 2008).
    • Counterpoint, Composition, and Musica Ficta (London and New York: Routledge, 2002).
    • ed. with Andrew Wathey, Fauvel Studies: Allegory, Chronicle, Music and Image in Paris, Bibliothèque nationale de France, MS français 146 (Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1998).
    • Link to publications
  • Teaching and supervision

    • Continuing supervision of doctoral students
    • Visiting professorships, most recently at the University of Chicago, Harvard University, Universität Basel
  • Other professional memberships and roles

    • Royal Musical Association, Dent Medal (1979)
    • American Musicological Society, President 1984-6. Corresponding Member (from 1995)
    • Fellow of the British Academy (from 1993)
    • Foreign Honorary Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences (from 1994)
    • Fellow of the Royal Historical Society (from 1995)
    • Member of Academia Europea (from 1995)
    • Glasgow University, Honorary D. Mus (1997)
    • Notre Dame University, Honorary Doctor of Fine Arts (2002)
    • Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of London (from 2002)
    • Corresponding Fellow of the Medieval Academy of America (from 2004)
    • Institute of Musical Research (London University School of Advanced Study), founding chair of Advisory Council (from 2005 to 2009)
    • F. Ll. Harrison medal, Society for Musicology in Ireland (2007)
    • Honorary Fellow, Academy of Saint Cecilia (from 2007)
    • Honorary Fellow, Girton College Cambridge (from 2007)
    • Distinguished Senior Fellow, School of Advanced Study (from 2010)
    • Université de Montréal, Doctor honoris causa (2010)
    • Appointed CBE 2008
    • International Member, American Philosophical Society (from 2013)